“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” film review

Image

Every once in a while some friends drag you to a see a film in the cinemas that you knew nothing about and had no interest in. The only thing I knew about The Perks of Being a Wallflower the night before I saw was that Emma Watson was in it. I was pleasantly surprised as I ended up loving this film.

Set in the early ‘90s, a teenager named Charlie nervously begins his first year of high school. He is a very shy guy with a troubled past, and struggles to make connections with the other first years. Things change after he befriends two senior students, Patrick and his stepsister Sam. After they invite Charlie to a house party, he becomes a part of their friendship group.

There is a lot I love about this movie. For a start, almost everything I expected to happen didn’t happen (such as reducing itself to high school movie clichés or becoming chicky flicky), and that’s always a good sign. The three leads put on strong and believable performances, as did the supporting cast. It also had some great alternative rock songs! The major revelation revealed at the end is exactly how a great revelation should be handled; you didn’t expect it but in hindsight you feel you should’ve seen it coming as it fills the missing pieces of a puzzle.

This film is very, very character based, which makes sense considering this film is adapted from a novel of the same name by Stephen Chbosky, who actually directed it. I’d imagine this would make it really true to the book, but also means that the original meanings of the novel are not lost in adaptation. Charlie is a very developed character, and his narrations and flashbacks really get you inside his head. By the end of the film I was very emotionally attached to his troubles. Sam’s past is touched upon and you appreciate her attempts to change what she once was when she started high school. Patrick is the character we feel comfortable with, as he begins as the funny one, but he has a tragic story hiding behind closed doors.

Some of the best film viewing experiences are when you watch a movie that had not a care in the world for and end up absolutely loving it. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a really, really good movie and I highly recommend everyone to see it. It’s not a chick flick and it doesn’t suck so everyone should see it. At first glance, it didn’t seem like my type of movie, but I was definitely wrong. The cast is great, the character arcs are well developed, the story takes some unexpected turns and it doesn’t need to demand your attention as it will likely have it anyway.

Once of the best movies I’ve seen this year, I’m giving The Perks of Being a Wallflower a well deserved 4.5/5.

I have a feeling this post is going to get a lot of views by people Googling Emma Watson, and after seeing this film, I certainly understand why.

2 comments

    1. Hi Arena,
      Thank you for your comment and I’m really glad you like my work! I will check out your review and look forward to your future posts!
      Thanks
      -Stefan

Leave a Reply

