The Expendables 2

Image

I didn’t see the first Expendables movie that came out two years ago. I didn’t really care either, so when my friends wanted to see this I wasn’t exactly enthusiastic, but a movie’s a movie. The end result was a surprisingly enjoyable action flick that has a slow start but changes tone to something really worth watching.

A mercenary group known as The Expendables are given a mission by the CIA to retrieve something important from an airplane that was shot down. When one of their own suffers a brutal fate, the rest of the gang decides to seek vengeance.

The film features an ensemble cast of mostly actors who had career highs doing action movies in the 80s and 90s. We got Sylvester Stallone, Jason Stratham, Jet Li, Arnold, Bruce Willis, Arnold Schwarzeneggar and various others. You’re guaranteed to find some famous faces in this one.

The first twenty minutes or so of the movie didn’t ring very well with me. Yes, it opened with an action sequence which was very cool, but I wasn’t really sure what was going on. After the action sequence was over I wasn’t really gearing up for a great movie. Once the plot shifted to the characters desire for revenge, the film definitely picked up. Plot may not be this film’s strongpoint but I loved how tone became far more humorous and the action didn’t slow down.

I thought that most of the cast were pretty solid. Sylvester Stallone delivered his lines well and played a great lead character. Arnold Schwarzneggar’s character spoke some self-referential lines which were rather predictable but were still funny nonetheless. And yes, you might have heard that Chuck Norris is in this movie. He plays a relatively minor character, but it’s become one of my favourite minor roles ever! Norris’s appearance alone makes this worth seeing!

Although it has a rather shaky start, I advise everyone to stick with it because The Expendables 2 is one of the most enjoyable movies you will see this year, as long as you don’t take it seriously. From a critical standpoint I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece but it’s certainly a guilty pleasure and I definitely want to watch the first one! If you’re a fan of the actors or action movies, even more of a reason to see it! I rate it 4/5.

Leave a Reply

