Kiss and Motley Crue 2013 concert review

Image

A night of rock and roll is a great night out in my book. That’s exactly what Motley Crue and Kiss brought to the table at their show, along with guests Thin Lizzy and Diva Demolition.

There were a few things that annoyed me. There were three different barricaded standing areas. It was one of those shows where you pay a lot extra to get to the very front, which I’ve always been against. I thought it was strange that a large chunk of Etihad Stadium was closed off for the stage, and this smaller stage setup may have contributed to the extreme heat inside the stadium. I think it was part of a dodgy business scheme by the stadium to offer cool offs with really expensive $9.50 beers and then hydration with $6.50 bottles of water. Yeah there was no way I was buying anything from this place. Just remember: it’s a legal requirement for them to offer free water, and what’s wrong with tap water? Nothing!

Brisbane based band Diva Demolition kicked things off with some old school sounding riffs. Catchy riffs, solos and charisma, everything you want from a rock and roll band. I’d love to hear more from this band in the future, and some of their choruses are still stuck in my head!

Thin Lizzy was next. This is one of the new incarnations of the band without the late Phil Lymont. All these shows (the band has refused to record new material) are dedicated to his legacy. Ricky Warwick is the current lead vocalist for the band and I thought he did a great job. I’m not too familiar with Thin Lizzy, but I enjoyed the setlist, which consisted of their hits such as ‘Jailbreak’, ‘Whiskey in the Jar’, and the song everybody knows, ‘The Boys are Back in Town’, which was a strong finisher. I’m not a Thin Lizzy fan, but I am keen on checking them out after seeing them here.

The first of the two headliners, Motley Crue, explosively hit the stage. I saw Motley Crue back in 2011 when they did a relatively simple stripped back show. I don’t look back on it too positively. The band’s usual showmanship was not there, and they didn’t even do an encore! That’s strange for a main headliner. This time the band brought the big guns, like in the Carnival of Sins DVD, and it made for quite a show. There was pyro, lasers, circus tricks, hot girls, Tommy Lee drumming upside down on his rollercoaster (which everyone has to see before they die!) and of course, the hits.

The only new material was the new single, ‘Sex’, and the title track off their most recent album, ‘Saints of Los Angeles’. Something that’s been clear to me since I saw the band on the aforementioned DVD and in concert twice now, is that lead singer Vince Neil has not aged well as a performer. He struggled to sing the words, especially during ‘Shout at the Devil’. It wasn’t all bad, as ‘Girls Girls Girls’ was sung flawlessly. The other three members were at the top of the game, which is a good effort for guitarist Mick Mars as he’s the oldest of the group by far. As usual the band ended with ‘Kickstart My Heart’, a song that truly represents what this band is about: kicking arse.

Kiss and Motley Crue are the perfect bands to tour together, as their concerts are not just songs, but feel like a circus. I must admit, I mainly bought the tickets as a Motley Crue fan and I’m not that familiar with Kiss’s discography, but I listened to them quite a bit before the show. Opening with classics ‘Detroit Rock City’ and my personal favourite, ‘Shout it Loud’, the band showed that despite their age, are more than capable of putting on a great show. It seemed the band wanted to have a wide presentation of their back catalogue, as no more than two songs off any album was played, including the new one, Monster. The exception to this was their first album, Kiss, which had three, including the tour debut of ‘Deuce’.

There were great show moments here, such as the band beginning the show descending from high platforms, Gene Simmons breathing fire and Paul Stanley riding a flying fox to a platform in between the standing area and the seats and sang Love Gun directly to those unlucky enough to get seats. A fan threw his wig at Paul Stanley’s guitar was he was flying through the air on the way back to the main stage, which caught on his guitar and it was pretty funny. What wasn’t as nice was Gene Simmons letting loose fake blood from his mouth all over himself. Silly.

Ending with main set with ‘Rock and Roll All Nite’ and confetti gave the band the chance to showcase their staying power as a band, with everyone up in arms screaming the words. They finished it up with ‘Black Diamond’ and I went home with a smile on my face after witnessing a show that felt grand, but I also had a hole in my heart as the band didn’t play ‘I Was Made for Lovin’ You’. This was apparently so because the band started late and Etihad Stadium had an 11pm curfew. Damnit. Also why have ‘God Gave Rock and Roll to You’ played over the PA instead of performing it? Regardless, I was very stunned at how the band can perform like men half their age.

A great few hours of rock and roll, the Kiss/Motley Crue show was well worth the money. Shame about Etihad though, but despite the annoyances, all four bands put on a great show.

Rating: 4/5.

 

Motley Crue’s Setlist

 

Saints of Los Angeles

Wild Side

Shout at the Devil

Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.)

Home Sweet Home

Drum Solo

Guitar Solo

Sex

Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)

Primal Scream

Live Wire

Dr. Feelgood

Girls, Girls, Girls

Kickstart My Heart

 

Kiss’s setlist

 

Detroit Rock City

Shout It Out Loud

Deuce

Firehouse

Hell or Hallelujah

Calling Dr. Love

Outta This World

Psycho Circus

Bass Solo

I Love It Loud

Crazy Crazy Nights

War Machine

Love Gun

Rock and Roll All Nite

Encore:

Lick It Up

Black Diamond

5 comments

    1. Hi Karen
      Before I hand over my email, I have to ask exactly what are you are getting in contact with me for. I have no associations with any of the artists I’ve reviewed on my blog so I’m left a little confused by your comment.

      1. Hi stefanb33 – Not a problem I work for Jaden Social, we’re working on the digital PR and Social Media for The Dead Daisies and a few other bands that you may be interested in covering on your blog in the future. I just wanted to reach out so that I had a way of contacting you on how we could possibly work together.

Leave a Reply

